1st Birthday Smash Cake Session – Baby Photography

I can’t believe that it has already been an entire year since my little girl was born! So in honor of the occasion I wanted to do a bunch of fun smash cake pictures. It was a bit more of a challenge since her birthday landed right when we were driving 12 hours home for a visit, so we had to wait a couple of days to do the actual smash cake so I had time to bake and decorate it (and of course I had to make it as fancy as I could).

AA Picture 011

At first MG was a bit apprehensive as to what I was expecting her to do, Mama doesn’t normally let her make gigantic messes so it took a bit of encouragement to get her to even touch the cake….

AA Picture 1046

Then as she does with everything, she had to study it carefully to decide on the best means of destruction…..

AA Picture 1097

Which of course was to use the icing as body paint…..and eventually just crumble the cake into nothing (not that it stopped her uncle from stealing a few bites between shots!)

AA Picture 1254

I have never done a cake smash before, but I can’t wait for the next one, especially with the set up I had the clean-up was….a piece of cake!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm”

                                       -Ralph Waldo Emerson

Leave a Reply

