Let’s Ride – A Passion For Horses And Photography

I was always one of those horse crazy little girls, I grew up with my bedroom walls plastered in horse posters and read any and every horse book I could get my hands on. Now I am not exactly as horse crazy as I was back then, but I still have a passion for horses. Along with riding and training I love taking pictures of them, you never know what kind of shot you are going to get with them.

While in college getting my equine technology degree, I had quite a few opportunities to take pictures, so I often had a camera attached to me (or my saddle). This shot caught me completely by surprise, it was the only one that turned out as I the rest were a bit blurry from me trying to get the heck out of the way…

I have many photos that I love…but there is just something I love about picture of a girl and her horse, and not just any horse…but that special favorite one. Often at school, it was that one you wished you could take home with you at the end of the semester. My favorite was a little filly I called Spartacus ( I know what a strange name, but it fit her). Roanie here was a favorite of my classmate…

…and Mutt, well she loved him so much she ended up buying him when it was time for him to leave!

I have taken many pictures of the horses at school and at home, but I never forgot to capture my surroundings….there is nothing like the countryside of eastern Oklahoma, or the barns on a freezing foggy morning…here are a few more of my favorites.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Riding is not a gentle hobby, to be picked up and laid down like a game of solitaire. It is a grand passion!

– Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

Leave a Reply

