Capturing That Newborn Smell

While I was pregnant with my daughter, I constantly thought about what kind of pictures I would like to take of her. I had never photographed a newborn, but I was so excited to try. I searched the internet looking for ideas and tips from different photographers, and there are so many wonderful ideas out there! While looking at all the different pictures, I noticed that there are so many different styles. Some people use lots of props, some people do lots of close ups on hands and feet, and others do a lot of photoshopping.  I decided my main focus would be trying to stick with a more natural look. I don’t want my daughters skin to look like a porcelain doll, I want to capture the blemishes, the wrinkles, and the red spots…its what makes her and every baby unique. So the majority of my pictures I tried not to over edit and take the best pictures that I could by concentrating on my angles, light, and focal points. I did play around with a few and did a more “artistic” look to try it out. I wonder which ones you prefer? Do you have a certain style that you like over others?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All our progress is an unfolding, like a vegetable bud. You have first an instinct, then an opinion, then a knowledge as the plant has root, bud, and fruit. Trust the instinct to the end, though you can render no reason

-Ralph Waldo Emerson

Leave a Reply

